A new GEF website is coming soon. Preview the design here

Countries (Participants)

The GEF has 184 member countries. In the Instrument, GEF member countries are referred to as Participants. In general terms there are developed and developing Participants in the GEF. They are represented on the GEF Council by 32 Constituencies (14 for developed countries, 16 for developing countries, and 2 for economies in transition) each one having a Council Member and an Alternate Council member. Representative of all member countries meet every four years during the GEF Assembly.


Both developed and developing countries are or have been donors to the GEF Trust Fund. Since its inception the GEF has received contributions from 40 donor countries.

List of donors

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea, Republic of
  • Luxembourg
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Portugal
  • Russian Federation
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States


Recipient Countries

Developing countries and countries with economies in transition are recipients of GEF support. The Country Profiles section details project financing for all recipient countries. Through the projects they undertake, these countries achieve global environmental benefits and fulfill their commitments under the main environmental conventions as well as in the field of International Waters. 

Each country is represented at the GEF Council through its Council Members & Alternates and manages its GEF portfolio and relationship with the GEF Secretariat through the Focal Points.